Boat Rhode Island – A One Day Boater Safety Classroom
A one-day 8-hour Safe Boating Classroom Course
This is a NASBLA Certified beginner’s boating class that is offered to all recreational boaters and will get you certified that you have successfully completed the requirements of the Boating Safety Education Laws.
Certification requirements are as follows:
All boat operators born after January 1, 1986, and wish to operate a motor vessel with 10 horsepower or more propulsion must successfully complete a NASBLA approved Safe Boating Education Course. In calendar year 2023 the requirement will be 37 years of age or less.
A Rhode Island Boating Safety Card is required for all PWC (Jet Ski) operators regardless of age.
NO CARD – NO LAUNCH
IT’S THE LAW!
A RHODE ISLAND BOATING SAFETY CARD IS REQUIRED FOR ALL PWC OPERATORS REGARDLESS OF AGE AND FOR PERSONS BORN AFTER JANUARY 1, 1986, OPERATING ANY VESSEL WITH MORE THAN 10HP
A passing grade of 70% or greater is required to obtain your NASBLA approved Rhode Island Safe Boating Card/License.
Upon completion of the class a State proctored “Challenge Exam” will be offered.
Be aware that many boat insurance agencies offer discounted rates for those that present a valid RI Boating Safety Card.
In Rhode Island waters, all non-resident boaters must have passed a NASBLA approved Boating Safety Class from the State in which they reside.
All classes are held on Saturdays in Room 300 at the DEM (Foundry Complex) located at 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908. Class dates may be changed if enrollment is less than 4 participants.